Frédéric BouchardFrédéric Bouchard is Full Professor in the Philosophy Department at the Université de Montréal, and, since June 1st 2017 is Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences.

Prior to that, he was Deputy Vice-Rector for Research, Discovery, Creation and Innovation at Université de Montréal, professor  and was the first holder of its ÉSOPE chair of philosophy (2014-2016). He is a member and was the director of the Centre interuniversitaire de recherche sur la science et la technologie  (CIRST 2014-2015). In December 2015, he was elected president of the Association francophone pour le savoir (ACFAS).

After a BA and MA at the Université de Montréal, he pursued a doctorate in philosophy at Duke University (Ph.D. 2004), and a postdoctoral fellowship at the University of Toronto (2005).

As a philosopher of science and philosopher of biology, his interdisciplinary research focuses on the theoretical foundations of evolutionary biology and ecology as well as on the relationship between science and society.

He received the 2008 Excellence in Teaching Awards from the Faculty of Arts and Sciences, and from the Université de Montréal.

He also contributes his time and expertise to several organizations involved in the development of academic research. He was President (2014-2015) of the Canadian Philosophical Association, is the Vice President of the Canadian Society of history and philosophy of science, and is on the Board of Directors of the société de philosophie des sciences (France). He was member of the Board of Directors and the Audit Committee of the funding agency Fonds de recherche du Québec-Société et Culture FRQSC (2012-2015).

Research

Through his research and teaching, Frédéric Bouchard shows the contribution of philosophy to scientific research and our understanding of nature and, conversely, how advances in science can contribute to classical philosophical problems. His recent work focuses on the foundations of evolutionary theory (particularly the ways in which biologists define and measure fitness) and ecology (how to conceive of ecosystems and biodiversity). He is also interested in various philosophy of science issues such as the role of scientific expertise in democratic society and public decisions, and also the ontological question of biological individuality (e.g. can termite colonies and ecosystems be studied as a ‘superorganisms’ and what does this tell us about our understanding of what is an individual).

 

With colleagues from Université de Paris I, University of Cambridge, Duke University, University of Toronto and Université de Montréal, he founded the Consortium for the history and philosophy of biology (www.chpb.info) in order to facilitate exchanges among students and professors of the five partner universities. The consortium led among other things to a prestigious grant LIA (International Associated Laboratory) between Paris I-CNRS, the University of Toronto and the Université de Montréal.

 

You can read his thoughts on these issues in Philosophy of Science, Biology and Philosophy, British Journal for the Philosophy of Science, Biological Theory, Microbiome, PNAS, and in the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy.

He has co-edited two volumes

Frédéric Bouchard and Philippe Huneman (CRNS-Paris I) From Groups to Individuals: Evolution and Emerging Individuality, MIT Press, 288p, 2013.

Julien Prud’homme, Pierre Doray, Frédéric Bouchard (Eds), Science, technologies et sociétés de A à Z, Presses de l’Université de Montréal, 249 p, 2015.

(see Publications )

More info

More information is available in his short CV or le complete CV.

Frédéric Bouchard

Frédéric Bouchard est professeur titulaire au département de philosophie de l’Université de Montréal et est depuis le 1er juin 2017, le Doyen de la Faculté des arts et des sciences de l’Université de Montréal.

Auparavant il a été vice-recteur associé à la recherche, à la découverte, à la création et à l’innovation à l’Université de Montréal, et fut le premier titulaire de la chaire ÉSOPE de philosophie (2014-2016). Il est membre et a été le directeur du Centre interuniversitaire de recherche sur la science et la technologie (CIRST 2014-2015). En décembre 2015, il a été élu président de l’association francophone pour le savoir (ACFAS).

Après un baccalauréat et une maîtrise à l’Université de Montréal, il a poursuivi un doctorat en philosophie à Duke University (Ph.D. 2004), puis un stage postdoctoral à l’Université de Toronto (2005).

Philosophe des sciences et philosophe de la biologie, ses recherches interdisciplinaires portent principalement sur les fondements théoriques de la biologie évolutionnaire et de l’écologie ainsi que sur les rapports entre science et société.

Il a reçu les prix d’excellence en enseignement 2008 de la part de la Faculté des arts et des sciences ainsi que de la part de l’Université de Montréal.

Il participe aussi à plusieurs organisations œuvrant à l’essor de la recherche. Il a été le président (2014-2015) de l’association canadienne de philosophie , fut le vice-président de la société canadienne d’histoire et philosophie des sciences, et est membre du conseil d’administration de la société de philosophie des sciences (France). Il a aussi été membre du conseil d’administration et du comité de vérification du Fonds de recherche du Québec-Société et Culture FRQ-SC (2012-2015) et préside actuellement les conseils d’administration de la plateforme Érudit ainsi que des Presses de l’Université de Montréal

Objets de recherche

Par ses recherches et enseignement, Frédéric Bouchard essaie de montrer l’apport de la philosophie à la recherche scientifique et à notre compréhension de la nature et, inversement, comment les avancées de la science peuvent contribuer à nos réflexions philosophiques classiques. Ses travaux récents portent sur les fondements de la théorie de l’évolution, en particulier sur les manières dont les biologistes définissent et mesurent la fitness, et, en écologie, sur la manière de concevoir ce qu’est un écosystème et la biodiversité. Il s’intéresse aussi à diverses questions d’épistémologie des sciences tels le rôle de l’expertise scientifique dans le débat démocratique et les décisions publiques, et aussi la question ontologique de l’individualité biologique (par ex. les colonies de termites et les écosystèmes peuvent-ils être étudiés en tant que ‘superorganisme’ et qu’est-ce que cela nous apprend sur notre compréhension de ce qu’est un individu).

Avec des collègues de l’Université de Paris I, University of Cambridge, Duke University, University of Toronto et l’Université de Montréal, il a fondé le Consortium d’histoire et philosophie de la biologie (www.chpb.info) qui permet aux étudiants et professeurs des cinq universités partenaires d’échanger annuellement sur des questions d’épistémologie des sciences du vivant. Ce consortium a mené entre autres à l’obtention d’une prestigieuse subvention LIA (laboratoire international associé) entre Paris I-CNRS, l’Université de Toronto et l’Université de Montréal.

Diffusion

On peut lire ses réflexions sur ces questions dans, entre autres, Philosophy of Science, Biology and Philosophy, British Journal for the Philosophy of Science, Biological Theory, Microbiome, PNAS, ainsi que dans la Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy.

Il a coédité deux volumes

Frédéric Bouchard et Philippe Huneman (CRNS-Paris I) From Groups to Individuals: Evolution and Emerging Individuality, MIT Press, 288p, 2013.

Julien Prud’homme, Pierre Doray, Frédéric Bouchard (Eds), Science, technologies et sociétés de A à Z, Presses de l’Université de Montréal, 249 pages, 2015.
Consultez la liste complète des publications de Frédéric Bouchard.

 

Pour en savoir plus

Consulter le CV court ou le CV complet.